Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
The Road to McCarthy
Cover of The Road to McCarthy
The Road to McCarthy
Around the World in Search of Ireland
Borrow Borrow Borrow

Pete McCarthy established one cardinal rule of travel in his

bestselling debut, McCarthy's Bar: "Never pass a bar with

your name on it." In this equally wry and insightful follow-up,

his characteristic good humor, curiosity, and thirst for adventure

take him on a fantastic jaunt around the world in search of his

Irish roots — from Morocco, where he tracks down the unlikely

chief of the McCarthy clan, to New York, and finally to remote Mc-Carthy, Alaska. The Road to McCarthy is a quixotic and anything-but-

typical Irish odyssey that confirms Pete McCarthy's status as

one of our funniest and most incisive writers.

Pete McCarthy established one cardinal rule of travel in his

bestselling debut, McCarthy's Bar: "Never pass a bar with

your name on it." In this equally wry and insightful follow-up,

his characteristic good humor, curiosity, and thirst for adventure

take him on a fantastic jaunt around the world in search of his

Irish roots — from Morocco, where he tracks down the unlikely

chief of the McCarthy clan, to New York, and finally to remote Mc-Carthy, Alaska. The Road to McCarthy is a quixotic and anything-but-

typical Irish odyssey that confirms Pete McCarthy's status as

one of our funniest and most incisive writers.

Available formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Subjects-
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • Pete McCarthy was born to an Irish mother and an English father. He is a hugely popular British television personality and the author of the critically acclaimed international bestseller McCarthy's Bar. He is also a recent winner of the British Book Awards Newcomer of the Year Award and the Irish Post Award for Literature.

Reviews-
  • Publisher's Weekly

    October 27, 2003
    In the bestselling McCarthy's Bar
    , McCarthy had one rule: never pass a bar with your name on it. In Road
    it's: never pass a part of the world with your name in or on it. Thus this genealogist–cum–pint-swilling adventurer embarks on a frolicsome, drunken globe-trot to uncover the roots of all things McCarthy and in the process expose what it means to be a McCarthy and, by extension, to be Irish. It's a lively, lusty quest; McCarthy travels like a Renaissance explorer with a film director's lens. In Tangiers, he finds a Moroccan McCarthy who puts a unique spin on the term "black Irish." He takes in America's premier Irish event, New York's St. Patrick's Day Parade (which he finds more Celtic and American than Irish and not a little Scottish besides). Next stop: Tasmania, the penal colony where so many Irish were sent by the British government. And how could he resist a visit to the town of McCarthy, Alaska, population 18? The ultimate mocking tour guide with acerbic charm, McCarthy delivers scathing critiques of people and places, himself included. His droll and often drunken existentialist view proffers a unique (and distinctly Irish) perspective on the world that is part history, part McCarthy's Law. Some may be put off by his frequent references to drugs, sex and overimbibing, but McCarthy is like a character out of contemporary Irish literature, a traveler on a winding road surrounded by life's imperfections yet finding them beautiful despite it all (especially after a pint or two). Photos, maps. (Feb. 6)

    Forecast:
    A four-city author tour, national broadcast and print media campaign, and a postcard promotion will help target readers, and McCarthy's caustic humor should appeal to fans of David Sedaris and Joe Queenan.

  • St Petersburg Times

    "Engaging... [McCarthy's] curiosity is infectious and there's plenty to amuse."

  • Washington Post

    "Hilarious...If McCarthy isn't telling a fabulous yarn himself, he's quoting someone who is."

  • Chicago Tribune

    "McCarthy is stitch. Move over, Bill Bryson. You've finally met your match."

  • Conde Nast Traveler

    "An entertaining romp [and] a meditation on Ireland today."

  • Los Angeles Times Book Review

    "Highly engaging...a very funny book."

  • Library Journal

    "Humorous and insightful...a delightful memoir."

  • Publishers Weekly

    "A lively, lusty quest. McCarthy travels like a Renaissance explorer with a film director's lens."

  • The Independent (UK)

    "The funniest book I've read this year."

  • London Times

    "A funny and believable travelogue."

  • Mail on Sunday

    "An engaging, evocative book."

  • Kilkenny People

    "A hugely enjoyable book, heartfelt, self-aware and very funny ...an intelligent exploration of what it means to be Irish."

  • Publishers Weekly

    "McCarthy is a worthy addition to the ranks of P.J. O'Rourke, Bill Bryson and Peter Mayle."

  • Dallas Morning News

    "Hilarious, sentimental, surprising and revealing."

  • Library Journal

    "Fans of Bill Bryson will enjoy reading McCarthy's droll narrative of his rediscovery of his family's roots in Ireland."-

  • Kirkus Reviews

    "Unfailingly sharp, good-humored and offbeat: sure to please Celtophiles of every greenish hue."

  • Books Magazine

    "A volume [that] cannot fail to impress even the most world-weary traveller."

  • Entertainment Weekly

    "A travelogue that's as hilariously gratifying as it is entertaining."

Title Information+
  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 5 titles every 7 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
The Road to McCarthy
The Road to McCarthy
Around the World in Search of Ireland
Pete McCarthy
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel