Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
Bunnies!!!
Cover of Bunnies!!!
Bunnies!!!
Borrow

Story time for little ones has never been this exciting! When a friendly monster spots a group of bunnies in the woods, his delight is contagious. And when they're gone, how he misses them.

With bright illustrations and a simple text, this is the most fun type of read-aloud and one that mirrors most every toddler's emotional life.

"A diplomatic exploration of loving not wisely, but too well." —Publishers Weekly
"The madcap action that will have [children] laughing with delight and asking for the book again." —School Library Journal
Bunnies!!!, by Tickle Monster illustrator Kevan Atteberry, is perfect for fans of Mo Willems and Sandra Boynton.

Story time for little ones has never been this exciting! When a friendly monster spots a group of bunnies in the woods, his delight is contagious. And when they're gone, how he misses them.

With bright illustrations and a simple text, this is the most fun type of read-aloud and one that mirrors most every toddler's emotional life.

"A diplomatic exploration of loving not wisely, but too well." —Publishers Weekly
"The madcap action that will have [children] laughing with delight and asking for the book again." —School Library Journal
Bunnies!!!, by Tickle Monster illustrator Kevan Atteberry, is perfect for fans of Mo Willems and Sandra Boynton.

Available formats-
  • OverDrive Read
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    2
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • Kevan Atteberry knew he wanted to make picture books ever since he ate his first crayon. Which is not advised. Nearly all of the books he has written and/or illustrated are about monsters. We don't know why. But he keeps doing it. He has become something of a monster documentarian. His books include I Love You More Than the Smell of Swamp Gas as well as Bunnies!!! and Puddles!!! You can see more of his monsters and other fun stuff at www.kevanatteberry.com.

Reviews-
  • Publisher's Weekly

    November 3, 2014
    Wild excitement at meeting new friends and the struggle to control emotions make Atteberry’s monster hero an effective (and funny) stand-in for a certain sort of child. His blue, ovoid monster is happy to see everything in the forest (“Hello, tree. Hello clouds”), but when it spots four candy-colored bunnies, its joy knows no bounds: “BUNNIES!!!” It starts to chase the bunnies, who—understandably—run and hide. The spurned monster continues walking, shoulders slumped, its tail dragging; it halfheartedly continues to greet an ever-more-depressing array of objects (“Hello, stick. Hello, dirt”). The bunnies can be seen hiding
    behind trees, conflicted; they don’t want to be overwhelmed, but they don’t want to make the monster sad, either. At last, the bunnies willingly subject themselves to the monster’s exuberance—until something new catches its attention, that is. In his first outing as author, Atteberry (Halloween Hustle) concentrates on conveying the monster’s tempestuous feelings (and lots of giggles besides) in polished scenes that mix single- and double-page images with sequential panels. A diplomatic exploration of loving not wisely, but too well. Ages 4–8. Agent: Erin Murphy, Erin Murphy Literary Agency.

  • Kirkus

    October 15, 2014
    What can you say about a title that includes three exclamation points? That it is full of pastel colors, that its hero is a monster called Declan (named only on the cover flap) and that it has very few words.Declan is light blue with darker blue polka dots and has orange horns and a pink puffball at the end of his tail, and he greets everything: trees, clouds, butterflies and-bunnies!!! Four bunnies (peach, mint green, pink and blue) are quite startled by his enthusiasm; in fact, they flee it. Declan is crestfallen. He listlessly continues through the woods, saying hello limply to rock and stump and slug until he sees the foursome again, and they once again dash out of sight. Declan sadly greets a log and then the dirt and is drifting off into a sleepy funk when the bunnies approach, realizing he will not hurt them. They tap him on the back, and he wakes to spin them around and dance and play. But wait! Soon he is distracted by birdies! The birdies are pretty startled, too. Declan definitely has a toddler's personality, especially one who finds his energy is overwhelming for some playmates. His friendship drama plays out in a mix of horizontal panels, full-page illustrations and double-page spreads (when he is at his most manic). Somewhat simplistic in both art and story arc but good for a chuckle or two in early storytimes and for those just beginning to pick out words-like BUNNIES!!! (Picture book. 3-6)

    COPYRIGHT(2014) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    December 1, 2014

    PreS-Gr 1-A friendly naif of a monster happily greets every cloud, tree, and butterfly he encounters until he spots four pastel-colored "Bunnies!!!" and leaps after them with unabashed enthusiasm. The monster is visibly deflated when the terrified rabbits quickly disappear. More subdued, he goes on greeting forest objects until he once more runs into the foursome, with the same results. The cottontails, peeking out from trees and bushes, see the little monster's sadness and realize that he just wants to play. A satisfied monster and happy bunnies then cavort together until the monster spots... "Birdies!" The expressive cartoon characters rendered digitally in full color make this spare tale understandable for both readers and non-readers. The combination of cartoon panels and spreads creates a palpable sense of action and makes the plot easy to follow for the youngest listeners. Children will sympathize with the simple emotions of the monster and the unease of the rabbits that slowly builds toward trust, but it is the madcap action that will have them laughing with delight and asking for the book again.-Marge Loch-Wouters, La Crosse Public Library, WI

    Copyright 2014 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Publishers Weekly A diplomatic exploration of loving not wisely, but too well.
  • School Library Journal The madcap action that will have them [children] laughing with delight and asking for the book again.
  • Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books The focused consistency of the background and the animated expressiveness of the main events make this resemble a lively and engaging cartoon. While this is suitable for just about any readaloud occasion, you could definitely use this to bust an Easter storytime wide open, in the nicest possible way.
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 5 titles every 7 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Bunnies!!!
Bunnies!!!
Kevan Atteberry
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel