Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
Trucker and Train
Cover of Trucker and Train
Trucker and Train

Kindness and friendship triumph over bullying in this action-packed story that's perfect for fans of Little Blue Truck and Loren Long's Otis stories, and for every vehicle-obsessed little one.

Kindness and friendship triumph over bullying in this action-packed story that's perfect for fans of Little Blue Truck and Loren Long's Otis stories, and for every vehicle-obsessed little one.

Available formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • Hannah Stark is a teacher in Brooklyn, NY, who loves to take road trips and train rides with her sons. This is her first book.
    hannahcarinastark.com
    Twitter: @teachingrightalong
    Bob Kolar creates books, toys, games, and TV shows for kids. He lives in Missouri.
    bobkolarbooks.com
    Instagram:@bobkolar

Reviews-
  • Kirkus

    June 1, 2019
    A semi experiences a dark night of the soul when he discovers he's second rate. Imbued with a mighty engine, massive tires, and a healthy sense of his own superiority, Trucker rules the road. But the 10-wheeled narcissist experiences a swift kick to the gut the day he catches a glimpse of Train. Painfully aware of his relative inadequacy, the truck is taken down a further notch when he discovers that all traffic stops for trains. Not trucks. Fortunately ego takes a back seat to heroism when Trucker observes a broken gate at the next train junction and risks unpopularity to save his fellow road warriors. Judging by the title, readers would be forgiven for thinking this a buddy book, but Train remains utterly unaware of Trucker's very existence throughout, even while his presence eclipses Trucker's very sense of self. The lesson to be learned here is one of grounded self-esteem; while it's familiar, its expression feels fresh. Kolar's digital art will feed directly into any young vehicular enthusiast's yearning for cars and trucks and things that go. Grab your CB radios and hold onto your whistle. In this battle of truck vs. train, the true winners are the readers. (Picture book. 3-6)

    COPYRIGHT(2019) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Publisher's Weekly

    July 22, 2019
    Trucker is used to being “bigger and stronger and tougher than anyone else on the road”; in his wake, the other vehicles “swayed and gasped... rattled and gulped.” But one day outside the city, Train comes through with an impressive whistle that leaves everyone awestruck. Feeling “smaller than he ever had before,” Trucker is relieved to see Train head into a station. But when he spies a broken-off gate at a nearby junction, he immediately rushes to block the intersection, causing the other vehicles to beep with annoyance—until Train barrels past and they realize the meaning of Trucker’s gesture. With frequent onomatopoeia, debut author Stark handles Trucker’s complex emotions with gentle sympathy. Kolar’s digital illustrations are similarly soft, with pale backdrops, undulating hills, curving roads, and vehicles made relatable with smiling faces. You don’t have to rule the road to be a hero, Stark and Kolar suggest, and that’s probably for the best. Ages 4–7.

  • School Library Journal

    August 1, 2019

    PreS-Gr 2-Trucker is a big rig who loves the sound of his engine, the size of his tires, and most of all, his mighty horn. He loves to blast it as he rushes by other vehicles. Trucker is surprised and frustrated when all of the vehicles stop and admire a passing train. Vehicles in this story are brought to life with faces that change expression throughout the narrative. This book utilizes white space to focus readers' attention on the happenings of a narrow and busy street. The urban setting is captured with the addition of box shaped buildings, windows, and structures in a variety of muted and dull colors. Lines are often used to illustrate movement, light, and sound. The onomatopoeic words appear in colorful bold font. This aspect of the book makes vehicle sounds a key focal point while reading the book. Children will love imitating the various vehicle sounds present in this narrative. VERDICT The relationship between the trucker and other vehicles illustrates the complex dynamic of jealousy, admiration, and friendship among peers. A wonderful and fun addition to any library collection.-Deanna Smith, Pender County Public Library, NC

    Copyright 2019 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+
  • Publisher
    HMH Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 5 titles every 7 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Trucker and Train
Trucker and Train
Hannah Stark
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel