Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
Song of the Abyss
Cover of Song of the Abyss
Song of the Abyss
Tower of Winds Series, Book 2
Borrow Borrow Borrow

Ancient grievances, long-held grudges, and dangerous magic combine in this sweeping fantasy perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Rachel Hartman.

As the granddaughter of a famed navigator, seventeen-year-old Reyna has always lived life on her own terms, despite those who say a girl could never be an explorer for the royal house of St. John del Mar. She is determined to prove them wrong. Returning home after a year-long expedition, she knows her dream is within reach. No longer an apprentice, instead: Reyna, Master Explorer. But when menacing raiders attack her ship, those dreams are pushed aside. Reyna's escape is both desperate and dangerous, and when next she sees her ship, a mystery rises from the deep. The sailors—her captain, her countrymen—have vanished. To find them, Reyna must use every resource at her disposal . . . including placing her trust in a handsome prince from a rival kingdom. Together they uncover a disturbing truth. The attack was no isolated incident. Troubling signs point to a shadowy kingdom in the north, and for once, the rulers of the Sea of Magdalen agree: something must be done, but can Reyna be brave enough to find a way?

Ancient grievances, long-held grudges, and dangerous magic combine in this sweeping fantasy perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Rachel Hartman.

As the granddaughter of a famed navigator, seventeen-year-old Reyna has always lived life on her own terms, despite those who say a girl could never be an explorer for the royal house of St. John del Mar. She is determined to prove them wrong. Returning home after a year-long expedition, she knows her dream is within reach. No longer an apprentice, instead: Reyna, Master Explorer. But when menacing raiders attack her ship, those dreams are pushed aside. Reyna's escape is both desperate and dangerous, and when next she sees her ship, a mystery rises from the deep. The sailors—her captain, her countrymen—have vanished. To find them, Reyna must use every resource at her disposal . . . including placing her trust in a handsome prince from a rival kingdom. Together they uncover a disturbing truth. The attack was no isolated incident. Troubling signs point to a shadowy kingdom in the north, and for once, the rulers of the Sea of Magdalen agree: something must be done, but can Reyna be brave enough to find a way?

Available formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:

Recommended for you

About the Author-
  • Makiia Lucier grew up on the Pacific Island of Guam and holds degrees in journalism and library studies from the University of Oregon and the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee. She is the author of A Death-Struck Year, Isle of Blood and Stone, and Song of the Abyss.
    www.makiialucier.com
    Twitter @makiialucier.

Reviews-
  • Kirkus

    June 15, 2019
    In the dark of night, raiders attack a ship sailing home to St. John del Mar. Seventeen-year-old Reyna is no longer an apprentice cartographer but a royal del Mar explorer in her own right. After escaping from entranced pirates and swimming through sea monster-infested waters, Reyna sputters onto shore and meets a handsome, grieving prince. Capt. Levi, the second child of the recently deceased King of Lunes, offers aid, but the two start off on the wrong foot with mistrust, lies, and deception. Mysterious disappearances of beloved family members while at sea unite the royal families, and they agree upon a desperate and dangerous mission to the mysterious kingdom of Miramar. In this sequel to Isle of Blood and Stone (2018), Lucier creates a richly satisfying maritime world where maps are revered by kings and queens. The action-packed romance weaves together an assortment of dangerous sea creatures, magical sirens, underwater ghosts, and human armies sacrificed to appease a dying monarch. There's more heart-pounding action in Reyna's story, with a superbly developed heroine, charming secondary characters, and playful dialogue. However, after traversing dangerous waters, the plot careens through the climax somewhat insipidly, and romantic developments aboard ship can feel timeworn. Levi is presumed white, and Reyna is brown-haired and golden-skinned. A delightful romantic adventure flavored with ancient legends and salty ocean lore. (map) (Fantasy. 12-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2019) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    August 2, 2019

    Gr 7 Up-When apprentice mapmaker Reyna discovers that her ship has been boarded by mysterious pirates, she escapes into the water. Helped by Prince Levi of Lunes, Reyna discovers that her ship has been recovered, but the sailors are gone. Soon, more ships turn up empty. As the only eyewitness to the strange raiders, Reyna sets out with Levi to uncover the mystery. The plot moves at a fast clip with staccato sentence structure and restrained description that lets readers fill in the details of the places and peoples Reyna encounters. In the tradition of Tamora Pierce, Lucier represents a global diversity of cultures. Reyna's Portuguese-inflected homeland and Levi's Jewish kingdom are not too distant (geographically and linguistically) from Miramar, which borrows from the Chinese Qin dynasty's funeral rites and Japanese Meiji imperial iconography. The result is a diverse cast and a swashbuckling adventure that evolves into court intrigue. The consequences of Reyna and Levi opening isolationist Miramar to the outside world are perhaps too briefly dealt with. Reyna's relationship with Prince Levi works best as a solid partnership when they are united in finding the missing-and ensorcelled-sailors. Both young people's good sense and open attraction to each other means that bits of romantic conflict don't quite fit. Thankfully, they are more interested in harpies and secret passages than relationship drama. VERDICT A forgotten kingdom, kidnapped sailors, and an ambitious girl cartographer hungry to chart the unknown-this book will satisfy fans of female-led adventure fantasy.-Katherine Magyarody, Texas A&M University, College Station

    Copyright 2019 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+
  • Publisher
    HMH Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 5 titles every 7 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Song of the Abyss
Song of the Abyss
Tower of Winds Series, Book 2
Makiia Lucier
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel